Committee to study short-filling of LPG

WM 6(2)/ 03
Government of India
Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution,
Department of Consumer Affairs
Legal Metrology Unit
Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi-110001
Dated: 11.9.2003


                            Subject: Constitution of a Committee to identify Qroblems relating to short filling of
                                           Liquid Petroleum Gas (LPG) in domestic cylinders and to suggest suitable remedial

                                       The Department of Consumer Affairs hereby constitutes a Committee to identify
                            problems relating to short filling of domestic LPG cylinders and to suggest suitable
                            remedial measures. The constitution of the Committee shall be as follows:

                            1. Additional Secretary Consumer Affairs                                           Chairperson
                            2. Joint Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas                     Member
                            3. Representative of Indian Oil Corporation                                        Member
                            4. Representative of Bharat Petroleum Corporation                             Member
                            5. Representative of Hindustan Petroleum                                           Member
                            6. Representative of Consumer Protection Council, Rourkela              Member
                            7. Director Legal Metrology                                                               Member Secretary.

                                         The Committee shall go into details of the system adopted for the filling
                            domestic LPG cylinders and also review the practice adopted for the distribution of
                            LPG cylinders to consumers to identify adoption of any malpractice and suggest
                            suitable remedial measures.


                                     The Committee shall submit their report at the earliest for consideration by the

                                                                                                                (Satwant Reddy)
                                                                                        Additional Secretary to the Government of India